Leave a comment

Historical Society Position Filled

The Atwater Area Historical Society is pleased to announce that they have hired someone to fill the role of coordinator on a flexible part-time basis (8 hours/week). The Society recently hired Jon Forsythe, a new arrival in Atwater to fill the position that has been vacant for an extended period of time. Jon and his family recently moved to the Atwater area after living in Litchfield for the past 6 years. His wife, Christa, is the pastor at Immanuel Lutheran church and the couple has two children: Marcus, age 7 and Jennica, age 3. Jon is currently employed at WINGS, the Adolescent Treatment Center in Litchfield, as their Outreach Director.
“I may have spent the past 15 years in the Social Service field but my first love is history,” Jon explains. “My love of history started way back as a child in Virginia. I spent the first 8 years of my life living outside Washington D.C. In addition to visiting all the great museums down by the Capitol Mall we used to visit a restored Civil War era fort near our house. There were reenactments every once in a while and you could stand on the battlements right next to the cannons. For a little kid it was great! I think that’s where I fell in love with history in general, and the Civil War in particular. I majored in history at St. Olaf so I’m excited to be able to finally put my degree to good use. Hopefully I can help spread the word about this great resource we have right here in our own backyard.”

Leave a Reply

